Tuesday, February 26, 2013

MOB Only Deployment - What NOT to Turn On




We've said it before, we'll say it again, GFIMAX can be used not only as a Remote Monitoring tool, but as a "foot in the door" using more traditional concepts for end-users/clients.  As with our Anti-virus-only deployment allowing MSP's to have a month-to-month SaaS offering, we can also utilize the concept with a simple-to-deploy Backup solution that can backup to the cloud from anywhere.  



In order to ensure that no additional charges are ever applied, the Advanced Monitoring Agent should be installed on the “Naked MOB” client computer using an Installation Template configured with ZERO CHECKS. If the agent is NOT installed that way, charges for the automatically discovered checks will be incurred (as well as Activation Charges on Server Agents) for the first month; even if the checks are immediately deleted from the dashboard.

Charges for the check associated with Managed Online Backup (Managed Online Backup Check) will be suppressed. Servers using Managed Online Backup only will not be charged an Activation Fee or Dashboard Charge until such time as they add another monitoring check or device feature (Take Control or Patch Management) as follows:
                      
Adding any one of:
  • 30 minute monitoring
  • Client Daily or Weekly reports TO A WORKSTATION will add that charges to the workstation only (i.e. “Naked” MOB).
Adding any one of:
  • SMS alerts
  • 5 minute monitoring
  • Client Dashboard access
  • Client Daily/Weekly/Monthly reports TO A SERVER will add that charges to the server only (i.e. “Naked” MOB).
Adding any one of:
  • Another monitoring check
  • Take Control
  • Patch Management TO A WORKSTATION will add that charge only.
Adding any one of:
  • Another monitoring check
  • Take Control
  • Patch Management TO A SERVER WILL add that charge AND Activation Fee (regardless of installation date) and the Dashboard Access charge. 
Sounds familiar, doesn't it?

Now that you know how to set the system for just the backups, visit our article on the actual steps needed for Managed Online Backup Only Deployments - Setup.

9 comments:

  1. You might want to mention that regardless of which Installation Template you choose, the Default Installation Template overrides it.

    This includes the built-in "Asset Tracking Only" template.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's simply not true. ???? I'm wondering why you would think it the case?

      Delete
    2. Doesn't seem *right*, but it's true, and it happened me last month. I installed 7 systems with the Asset Tracking Only template, and was surprised to see charges for them on the Price Breakdown Report.

      My rep took care of the charges after I called, but it it looks like I have to set the Default for each client or site whenever I'm installing.

      Delete
    3. Well, there's a difference between "Asset Only" and Charges. The latter can result from having another feature enabled (besides MOB in this case). I can enable a feature and still not deploy any 24x7/DSC checks. Those checks are removed when using the Asset Only Template.

      Delete
  2. Also, after getting the "foot in the door" (installing with a stripped down Installation Template), how can we apply a more featured template to the existing installation?

    Barring _re-installing_ with a different template, it looks like we have to configure every check individually.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you BACKUP a configuration, you make available the checks that are occurring on the machine. While not optimal at the moment,you can use this backup to "manually" apply a new template to an existing installation without reinstalling. Contact us directly for more ... or I'll link to a new article about it before too long :).

      Admittedly, it's not the easiest to move from one template to another, but our INSTALLATION TEMPLATES have always been intended to be the first step to CONFIGURATION TEMPLATES.

      Delete
    2. Thanks, I hadn't noticed the dashboard's backup option. Looks like I can't restore/apply that via the dashboard, though -- just locally copy the files onto each system?

      I look forward to the article!

      Delete
    3. Applying *after the fact* is the "Configuration Templates" concept. Yes, copy the backup files to a new device and double-check the configuration on that local device. (Must do the latter else they won't be sticky.)

      Delete
  3. Hi Todd,

    Where exactly is the backed-up data stored? Is it in the UK? USA? Canada? I have clients that are concerned about their backed-up data sitting on a non-Canadian server.

    Thanks,

    Calen Slezash
    Caltec Solutions
    GFI Max Partner

    ReplyDelete