Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Backup and Recovery Only Deployments - Setup

Written by: Robert Meehan

Backup and Recovery can be deployed through RMM to clients that want only backups.  By following the information below you can use just the backup for your clients and be charged only for backup.

ATTENTION!  If the system is not set correctly beforehand additional charges may apply.  Read our article What NOT to Turn On to avoid fees for non monitoring clients regarding what NOT to turn on so you are not charged anything additional.  Once the system is set correctly, simply follow the steps below to create a Backup and Recovery only deployment.

Backup and Recovery Only Steps:

  • Create Client/Site
    • Under File> select Add Client and add the Client's Name> press OK,
    • Under File> select Add Site and add a site name (i.e home office, locations, etc.)> press OK 
  • Use the Asset Tracking Only template which contains zero monitoring checks. To do this: On the dashboard press Settings> Monitoring Templates> New Device Installation Monitoring Templates> expand the workstation or server options and then select the client record. Turn the setting to "On" and select Asset Tracking Only. Now press OK.

  • Enable Backup & Recovery for the client and or site
    • Settings> Backup and Recovery> Settings
    • Expand the tree to your client and site (workstations and servers) that will accept Backup and Recovery only and turn the setting to “On”.
    • Be sure to review your Backup Policies that you are applying.

  • Check status of deployment on Summary Tab
    • Once the agent checks into your dashboard there is a tab called SUMMARY tab in the lower right quadrant of the dashboard.

No comments:

Post a Comment